N.J.S.A. 39:6B-2

No Insurance Charges

In New Jersey the penalities for driving with no insurance are greater than those for first offense drunk driving or some drug possession charges. If you are convicted of driving without insurance you will automatically lose your license for one year; pay more than $1000 in fines, court costs, and surcharges; and be sentenced to community service. It is important to get legal advice as soon as you are charged.

N.J.S.A. 39:6B-2: Maintenance of motor vehicle liability insurance coverage

1. a. Every owner or registered owner of a motor vehicle registered or principally garaged in this State shall maintain motor vehicle liability insurance coverage, under provisions approved by the Commissioner of Banking and Insurance, insuring against loss resulting from liability imposed by law for bodily injury, death and property damage sustained by any person arising out of the ownership, maintenance, operation or use of a motor vehicle wherein such coverage shall be at least in:

(1) an amount or limit of $15,000.00, exclusive of interest and costs, on account of injury to, or death of, one person, in any one accident; and

(2) an amount or limit, subject to such limit for any one person so injured or killed, of $30,000.00, exclusive of interest and costs, on account of injury to or death of, more than one person, in any one accident; and

(3) an amount or limit of $5,000.00, exclusive of interest and costs, for damage to property in any one accident.

b. Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection a. of this section, an owner or registered owner of an automobile, as defined in section 2 of P.L.1972, c.70 (C.39:6A-2), registered or primarily garaged in the State may satisfy the requirements of subsection a. of this section by maintaining a basic automobile insurance policy containing coverages provided pursuant to subsections a. and b. of section 4 of P.L.1998, c.21 (C.39:6A-3.1).

c. Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection a. of this section, an owner or registered owner of an automobile, as defined in section 2 of P.L.1972, c.70 (C.39:6A-2), registered or primarily garaged in the State may satisfy the requirements of subsection a. of this section by maintaining a special automobile insurance policy containing coverages provided pursuant to subsection b. of section 45 of P.L.2003, c.89 (C.39:6A-3.3).
L.1972,c.197,s.1; amended 1998, c.21, s.20; 2003, c.89, s.60.

Driving Without Insurance

If you’ve been charged of driving without insurance your lawyer will consider the following questions:

-Was your motor vehicle insurance canceled without your knowledge, or because an agent failed to forward your payment?

-Were you driving a car owned by someone who was visiting New Jersey or had recently moved to the state?

-Were you ever notified of your policy being canceled?

-Did you think you were insured under a policy owned by another member of your household?

-“Operation” is defined differently for an insurance issue than in a case involving drunk driving or driving under the influence of drugs. Were you truly operating the uninsured vehicle?

-Will the court amend the charges to “failure to exhibit documents” if you have a valid insurance card by the time you go to court?

If you have been charged with driving without insurance, you can only make a well-informed decision about how to proceed after discussing your case with an attorney with the appropriate experience. If you would like to speak with me, call 1-732-845-3203 or e-mail Ray at rraya@rayalaw.com to set up a consultation.

I represent clients who have received a summons or been arrested on a wide variety of traffic violations, defending them throughout New Jersey.

The Law Offices of Raymond A. Raya, Esq.

Monmouth County Lawyer

Traffic · DUI/DWI · Criminal Defense · Municipal